Let me tell you about Krakow, Poland


During the last week, we went to Krakow, Poland. Actually, we stayed in Krakow while we visited the Aushwitz Memorial Site. I can’t tell you how impressed I was with Krakow and the part of Poland that I saw. It really caught me off guard. I guess I had allowed my feelings about Aushwitz interfer with my thinking on the rest of Poland, but now I have been set straight.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

On the train going into Poland, we met two Polish professors who had been to a ‘materials’ conference. They were sort of material engineers. They were so interesting and had such great senses of humor that we were all laughing for several very fast hours. We hated for the train to reach the station. There were three other Americans and my husband and myself who along with the two professors were the only people in our train car and we basically turned it into a party. It was fun.

Then we went to Krakow and the market square and later the salt mine (I could barely walk for days after the salt mine.) We understood there would be 350 steps down which I thought I’d bite my lip and get through. Well, that was just the first level. When we finished we were told that it was over 800 steps and I could barely walk (literally) for two days. Thank God there was an elevator (such as it was) to bring us up or I would still be down there. In addition to that, we had to walk a couple of miles within the mine itself. So, I was wiped out and that was the only salt mine I ever need to see.

Let me show you some photos of our trip. I’ll just show you photos from Krakow today. Tomorrow I will post some of the salt mines. I will also have videos when I get home and get them up.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

~ by citizenjournalistreview on September 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

