This story gets me ‘right here’…



http://www.cbs.com/e/GFmh1IJI1q1mB1EpERNRwmSEa_K1AcAN/news/1/

(Note: I can’t seem to get CBS’s embed code to work, but here’s the link to the video. If anyone knows how to embed this let me know. I don’t usually have a problem with it, but this one is a challenge.)

This week, at least one piece of Journalism in mainstream media shines. That story was aired on 60 Minutes, last Sunday night November, 27th by Nicole Young. It was highlighting the problem of homelessness amoung children, and particularly featured some of the ones in Florida. This wasn’t a ‘whiney’, feel sorry for me, poor me type show. It was more of (their mother deceased and father was out of work) a reality story and it touched me like no story has in a very long time. I was so proud of Arielle and Austin Metzger two of the young people featured in the spot although I’ve never had the priviledge of meeting them. I’m sure their mother would be proud too. They are what we always call the ‘real American spirit’. They held their heads high and while they were in an unbelievable situation, they obviously realized they were better than that. I loved those kids! Now, I know what I want for Christmas and that is to give those two young people a big hug and give a shout out to CBS and 60 Minutes. Give us more great Journalism like this, Please….!!!!!

~ by citizenjournalistreview on December 1, 2011.

Leave a Reply

